Share with friends and colleagues on social media

作者:Sascha Grunert

下一个Kubernetes版本即将发布,大家都想知道新版本中会有何新功能。本文将为您揭晓部分激动人心的新功能。

概览更新

Kubernetes是当今最大的开源软件项目之一,以下数据可提供更直观的感受:截至目前,v1.18.0已包含高达3412批提交信息(commit),比上一个版本略有增加(v1.17.0中这一数据为3289),总体维持在新Kubernetes版本发布的平均值左右。其中只有大约10%的commit涉及实际的面向用户的变更,即意味着用户最终要阅读337个发行说明条目,大约可占满35页A4纸!Kubernetes SIG Release(Kubernetes发布特别兴趣小组)确保这些发行说明是高质量的,每个小版本的发行说明均经手工修改。

手工修改的发行说明来源于Kubernetes发行说明生成器,其收集的数据范围覆盖之前的候选小版本v1.17.0-rc.1到最新的v1.18系列版本。这些生成的发行说明当前发布在SIG Release GitHub存储库(GitHub repository of SIG Release)中。SIG Release的发行经理(Release Managers)将于3月24日确定v1.18.0版本,而krel(Kubernetes发行工具箱)将会把这些说明纳入官方Kubernetes GitHub存储库

面对如此巨大的变化,我们如何才能概览版本的更新之处呢?对数据科学家来说,在自然语言处理过程中找到此类数据集的“词袋”是一种常见的做法。基于目前可用的发行说明,我践行了这一做法。如果我们在“词云”中打开“词袋”,便可一览Kubernetes v1.18.0的真容:

这是一个有趣的开始!可见弃用、度量、节点和kubectl的变更似乎是该版本的主题。让我们以kubectl为例,进行近距离观察。

kubectl

值得一提的一个特性是,kubectl现已包含一个kubectl alpha调试命令,允许将一个临时容器附加到一个正在运行的Pod(Pod是kubernetes中可以创建和部署的最小单位)中,以便进行调试(#88004)。

对kubectl还做了其他较小的更改。例如,当使用带有- force旗标的kubectl删除对象时,便无需再指定–grace-period=0(#87776

kubectl- dry-run旗标现接受客户端赋值、服务器赋值和无赋值。这允许我们支持客户端和服务器端的模拟运行策略。kubectl对服务器端模拟运行的支持已经扩展到应用、补丁和创建等命令(#87580#87714#88292)。

 存储增强

Secret值和ConfigMap值现可标记为不可变。若其设置为true(真),则更改数值资源的操作将被拒绝。但无论如何,仍有可能删除这些对象(#86377)。

Kubernetes引入了一个新的FsGroupChangePolicy字段,允许用户为Pods指定fsGroup权限更改策略。例如,如果根级别的文件系统与预期的fsGroup不匹配,则仅允许更改存储挂载上的文件权限(#88488)。

 Horizontal Pod Autoscaler(HPA)API

Kubernetes添加了一个HPA API,允许用户扩展配置HPA的行为。可以分别指定不同的行为来放大和缩小。除此之外,在每个缩放方向上,可以指定一个稳定窗口和一个策略列表,以及如何从其中选择。这些策略可以限制添加或删除的Pod的绝对数量,或者添加或删除的Pod的百分比。例如,此等行为定义可如下所示:

behavior:
scaleUp:
policies:
– type: Percent
value: 100
periodSeconds: 10
scaleDown:
policies:
– type: Pods
value: 2
periodSeconds: 30

This means pods can be scaled up every 10 seconds and scaled down to 2 pods every 30 seconds. (#74525).

这意味着Pods可以每10秒放大一次,每30秒缩小至2个。(#74525)。

调度配置文件

Kubernetes已经能够运行多个调度器(Schedulers),这在大规模调试调度场景下会大大增加复杂性。为了解决这个问题,社区引入了调度器配置文件(Scheduler Profiles),它可以应用于一个单一的调度器。这意味着集群操作员现在可以为不同的pod集提供不同的调度行为(#88087)。

 大内存页

Kubernetes支持Pod中的应用程序分配和使用预先分配的大内存页。该功能本已普遍可用,但如今能够支持容器级别的多种大小的大内存页(#84051)。除此之外,大内存页的统计信息现已添加至kubectl描述节点的已分配资源中(#80605)。现在还可以支持一种以上大小的预分配大页面(#82820)。

API弃用

了解Kubernetes中API弃用的最新情况非常有必要,以确保应用程序部署的工作方式与Kubernetes升级之前相同。例如,v1.18.0中的一些弃用将如下所示:

Kubernetes API服务器将不再支持apps/v1beta1、extensions/v1beta1、daemonsets、replicasets等弃用的APIs及其它资源(#85903)。

Kubelet资源度量端点/metrics/resource/v1alpha1以及该端点下的所有度量均已弃用(#86282)。

kubectl run的所有生成器均被移除,现只能创建pods。此外,所有不再相关的旗标也已被弃用(#87077)。

结论

如上所介绍的内容并未涵盖所有值得一提的新变化,但足以支撑我对Kubernetes v1.18.0.的概要介绍了。如果您还意犹未尽,想了解更多细节,我推荐您访问官方Kubernetes发行说明网站或者浏览更改日志文件,新版本发布后,上述网页会包含所有相关细节。

Share with friends and colleagues on social media
(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Category: Cloud and as a Service Solutions, Containers, Containers as a Service, Kubernetes, SUSE CaaS Platform
This entry was posted 星期五, 10 四月, 2020 at 2:00 上午
You can follow any responses to this entry via RSS.

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

No comments yet

Share with friends and colleagues on social media

The next Kubernetes release is right around the corner and we’re all wondering what is new in this version. In this blog post we’ll check out some of the exciting new features of the upcoming release.

Getting an Overview

Kubernetes is one of the largest open source software projects these days, which can be expressed in numbers as well: A tremendous amount of 3412 commits have made it into the release v1.18.0 so far. This is a slight increase to the previous release since we had 3289 commits for v1.17.0, but in general the rough average for a new Kubernetes version. Only round about 10 percent of those commits contain an actual user-facing change, which means that we end up having 337 release notes entries. That is around 35 A4 pages full of release notes! The Kubernetes SIG Release team ensures that those release notes are of a high quality and reworks them manually for every minor release.

The source for this manual rework is the output of the Kubernetes Release Notes Generator, which collects the data from the previous minor release candidate v1.17.0-rc.1 to the latest state of the release-1.18 branch. The current output of these generated release notes can be found in the GitHub repository of SIG Release. The Release Managers of SIG Release will cut v1.18.0 on March 24th, whereas krel (the Kubernetes Release toolbox) will pick up these notes and push them into the official Kubernetes GitHub repository.

But how can we get an overview about this immense amount of changes? Well, for data scientists it’s a common practice to find the bag of words during natural language processing of such data sets. I did exactly that based on the currently available release notes. This is how it looks like for Kubernetes v1.18.0 if we display the bag of words in word cloud:

That’s an interesting start. It looks like that changes regarding deprecations, metrics, node and kubectl are major topics for that release. Let’s have a closer look at what happened to kubectl for example.

kubectl

One feature worth to mention is that kubectl now contains a kubectl alpha debug command which allows attaching an ephemeral container to a running pod for the purposes of debugging (#88004).

There are other smaller changes done to kubectl, for example when deleting objects using kubectl with the --force flag, then we’re no longer required to also specify --grace-period=0 (#87776)

The kubectl --dry-run flag now accepts the values client, server, and none. This allows us to support client-side and server-side dry-run strategies. The support for server-side dry-run in kubectl has been extended for commands like apply, patch and create as well (#87580, #87714, #88292).

Storage Enhancements

Secret and ConfigMap values can now be marked as immutable. If these are set to true, then changing the resources will be rejected. In any case, the deletion of those objects is still possible (#86377).

Kubernetes introduced a new FsGroupChangePolicy field to allow users to specify the fsGroup permission change policy for Pods. This allows for example to only change the file permissions on a storage mount if the root level file system does not match the expected fsGroup (#88488).

Horizontal Pod Autoscaler (HPA) API

Kubernetes added an HPA API, which allows users to scale the behavior of the HPA to be configured. Different behaviors can be specified separately for scaling up and down. Beside that, in each scaling direction a stabilization window can be specified as well as a list of policies and how to select amongst them. These policies can limit the absolute number of pods added or removed, or the percentage of pods added or removed. For example, such a behavior definition could look like:

behavior:
   scaleUp:
     policies:
       - type: Percent
         value: 100
         periodSeconds: 10
   scaleDown:
     policies:
       - type: Pods
         value: 2
         periodSeconds: 30

This means pods can be scaled up every 10 seconds and scaled down to 2 pods every 30 seconds. (#74525).

Scheduling Profiles

Kubernetes is already capable of running multiple Schedulers, which can drastically increase the complexity when it comes to debugging scheduling scenarios at large scale. To solve this problem, the community introduced Scheduler Profiles which can apply to one single scheduler. This means that cluster operators now can offer different scheduling behaviors for a different set of pods (#88087).

HugePages

Kubernetes supports the allocation and consumption of pre-allocated huge pages by applications in a Pod. The feature is already generally available, but now got support for multiple size huge pages on a container level (#84051). Beside that, huge page stats are now added to Allocated resources in kubectl describe node (#80605). It is also possible to support pre-allocated huge pages for more than one size now (#82820).

API Deprecations

It is always worth an effort to have a look at the latest API deprecations in Kubernetes to ensure that the application deployment works in the same way as before an Kubernetes upgrade. For example, just some deprecations of v1.18.0 will be:

The Kubernetes API Server will no longer serve deprecated APIs like apps/v1beta1 and extensions/v1beta1 for daemonsets, deployments, replicasets and other resources (#85903).

The Kubelet resource metrics endpoint /metrics/resource/v1alpha1 as well as all metrics under this endpoint have been deprecated (#86282).

All generators from kubectl run have been removed and they will now only create pods. Additionally, all the flags that are not relevant anymore have been deprecated as well (#87077).

Conclusion

These are by far not all the new changes worth mentioning, but that should be enough for my wrap-up of the changes coming to Kubernetes v1.18.0. If that is still not enough information for you and you need more details, then I’d like to point you to the official Kubernetes Release Notes Website or the change log file, which will contain all the details if the release is done.

Share with friends and colleagues on social media
Tags: , ,
Category: Cloud Computing, Digital Transformation, Kubernetes, News, SUSE CaaS Platform
This entry was posted Monday, 23 March, 2020 at 1:09 pm
You can follow any responses to this entry via RSS.

Comments

  • Vincent Moutoussamy says:

    Great post! Very informative.

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *