北京农村商业银行

亮点

  • 通过迁离专有硬件和操作系统,节省大量成本
  • 降低系统管理要求
  • 加快解决问题的速度
  • 减少排除故障所需的工作量
北京农村商业银行依赖 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 来确保其关键系统的出色可用性。投资 SUSE 高级支持服务之后,该银行能够更快速、更轻松地解决技术问题。另外,相比先前的服务器及操作系统平台,公司不但节省了大量成本,还降低了 IT 系统管理要求。

概述

北京农村商业银行 (BJRCB) 成立于2005年,为遍布城内的所有182片分区的个人及公司客户提供全面的金融产品及服务。该银行开设有 694 家支行,管理资产市值达 5222 亿人民币。

挑战

随着创新型金融产品及服务需求的持续升温,在过去五年间, BJRCB 为内部用户提供的应用程序数由 50 个飙升至 134 个。

为支持需求量的大幅上升,公司需要性能极佳、非常可靠的 IT 平台,同时需要严格控制成本以保持竞争优势。

BJRCB 系统管理员 Nian Liu 表示: "如果系统停机,我们不仅无法为客户提供服务,并且还会蒙受严重的声誉损失。事实上,停机时间过长甚至会导致行业监管人员采取行动。因此,我们必须选择稳定性突出的IT平台。

"当政府新政策限制我们从上一家供应商购买产品时,我们利用基础设施更新的机会来优化成本和提升服务质量。"

"我们对 SUSE 提供的优质技术及一流支持非常满意,因此决定在这个平台开发所有新的应用程序。"

SUSE 解决方案

BJRCB 决定将多个业务关键系统迁移至 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 操作系统。 BJRCB 还投资了 SUSE 高级支持服务,以帮助其 IT 团队更轻松地管理此平台。

"迁移至 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 具有多项显著优势。" Nian Liu 表示,"首先,在新服务器上安装操作系统仅需要一小时。因为安装过程简单,我们无需 SUSE 的帮助就可以完成。

"第二,许多系统管理流程是自动化的。这意味着我们的基础设施不易受人为错误的影响,而且在系统管理上也节省了时间。同时,自动化让我们能够更轻松地确保系统符合银行业的严格规定。"

他继续说道: "第三, SUSE 平台非常可靠。据我们的经验看来,它比 Windows 更稳定,几乎不怎么需要重启系统。如此高水平的可用性让我们能够轻松确保关键系统正常运作。"

成果

换用 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 为 BJRCB IT 团队带来了莫大的裨益。

Nian Liu 表示:"SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 运行与维护非常方便。迁移到该平台后,我们的IT管理用时明显减少。这是一项重大优势,因为我们的IT团队规模较小,成功取决于能否高效开展工作。"

另外,来自 SUSE 的企业级支持让 IT 团队很放心,因为关键系统已交由能手打理。

"我们从SUSE获得了一流的支持," Nian Liu 表示,"如果出现问题,我们可以致电热线或高级工程师,四小时内就能获得现场支援。 SUSE 工作人员是其领域的专家,所以能够非常快速地解决问题。问题的解决速度比以前更快了,我们内部团队花在故障排除上的时间也减少了。迅速纠正故障能够帮助我 们避免关键系统停机,为客户提供更出色的服务。

另外,当 BJRCB 想要更改重要系统时,可随时让 SUSE 派工程师协助其 IT 团队快速、无缝地完成修改工作。

Nian Liu 表示:"过去,大型技术供应商提供的高级支持服务令我们失望,他们的工程师屡屡迟到,又不能解决问题。而 SUSE 则完全没有这类问题。"

关键的是,换用 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 让 BJRCB 大幅削减了 IT 开销。

"相比我们之前的专有服务器和操作系统平台,我们节省了大量成本。" Nian Liu 表示,"这样的大幅成本节省有助于我们更好地与其他对手银行竞争,巩固我们的市场地位。

"我们对 SUSE 提供的优质技术及一流支持非常满意,因此决定在这个平台开发所有新的应用程序。"

Beijing Rural Commercial Bank Logo
Industry: Banking & Financial Services
Location: China
Download Full Story

Beijing Rural Commercial Bank

Highlights

  • Unlocked significant cost savings by migrating away from proprietary hardware and OS
  • Reduced system administration requirements
  • Accelerated problem-solving
  • Reduced the effort involved in troubleshooting

Products

To ensure superb availability for its critical systems, Beijing Rural Commercial Bank relies on SUSE Linux Enterprise Server. Investing in premium support from SUSE means that the bank can solve technical problems much faster than before, and with less effort. In addition, the company has achieved a significant cost saving compared to its previous server and operating system platform, and has cut IT administration requirements.

Overview

Founded in 2005, Beijing Rural Commercial Bank (BJRCB) provides a broad range of financial products and services to individuals and companies across all 182 districts of the city. The bank operates a network of 694 branches and manages assets worth RMB 522.2 billion.

The Challenge

As demand for innovative financial products and services heats up, BJRCB has seen the number of applications it provides to internal users swell from 50 to 134 in the last five years.

To support this massive growth, the company needs an IT platform that can provide excellent performance and reliability. It also has a critical need to keep costs firmly under control to maintain its competitive edge.

Nian Liu, System Administrator at BJRCB, said: “If our systems go down, we risk being unable to provide services to our customers and incurring severe reputational damage. In fact, prolonged downtime could even spark action from industry regulators. It is therefore imperative that we select IT platforms that deliver outstanding stability.

“When a new government policy restricted the purchase of products from our previous vendor, we took the opportunity presented by an infrastructure refresh to optimize costs and boost service quality.”

“We are so happy with the high-quality technology and brilliant support provided by SUSE that we have decided to develop all new applications on the platform.”

SUSE Solution

BJRCB decided to migrate a number of its business-critical systems to the SUSE Linux Enterprise Server operating system. BJRCB also invested in premium SUSE support to help its IT team manage the platform more easily.

“Moving to SUSE Linux Enterprise Server has presented several major advantages,” said Nian Liu. “First, it takes just an hour to set up the operating system on a new server. Because the installation process is simple, we can complete it without help from SUSE.

“Second, many system management processes are automated. This means that our infrastructure is less susceptible to problems caused by human error, and that we save time on system administration. Also, automation makes it easier to ensure that our systems are compliant with the tough regulations imposed on the banking industry.”

He continued: “Thirdly, the SUSE platform is extremely reliable. In our experience, it’s more stable than Windows, as we rarely need to restart the systems. Having such high levels of availability makes it much easier for us to keep our critical systems up and running.”

The Results

Switching to SUSE Linux Enterprise Server has unlocked enormous benefits for BJRCB’s IT team.

Nian Liu said: “SUSE Linux Enterprise Server is extremely easy to run and maintain. By moving to the platform, we have cut the time spent on IT administration noticeably. That’s a huge advantage, because our IT team is small, and our success depends on our ability to work efficiently.”

Furthermore, enterprise-class support from SUSE gives the IT team peace of mind that its critical systems are in good hands.

“The support we receive from SUSE is excellent,” said Nian Liu. “If problems occur, we can call a hotline or senior engineer, and help will arrive on-site within four hours. Because the SUSE staff are experts in their field, they are able to solve problems extremely quickly. Problems are resolved faster than before, and our in-house team spends less time on troubleshooting. Resolving errors quickly helps us avoid downtime for our critical systems and provide better service to our customers.”

Also, whenever BJRCB plans to make changes to an important system, SUSE sends engineers to help the bank’s IT team complete the modifications quickly and seamlessly.

Nian Liu said: “In the past, we’ve been disappointed by the premium support services offered by major technology vendors, as their engineers have arrived late and been unable to solve the problem. With SUSE, we don’t have those issues.”

Critically, switching to SUSE Linux Enterprise Server has enabled BJRCB to substantially reduce IT overheads.

“We have achieved a significant cost saving compared to our previous proprietary server and operating system platform,” said Nian Liu. “Major savings like this help us to compete more effectively against rival banks, strengthening our position in the market.

“We are so happy with the high-quality technology and brilliant support provided by SUSE that we have decided to develop all new applications on the platform.”